GNU Screen is an application that allows you to run multiple virtual terminals in session mode. After creating a session, you can disconnect from it, and then reconnect from any other host with SSH client installed. Processes started in Screen continue to run even after the user disconnects from the session or from the host at all. This is another reason (apart from increasing the convenience of working in the command line by using the option to switch between windows) why Screen is used. If the Internet connection is unreliable, or the user has no way to maintain a persistent connection, or there is a need to start a process at the office and stop it at home, then using Screen (or similar applications such as Tmux) is a way to solve these problems.

    Screen commands for Linux*

    Once installed, you can run the Screen program with the command screen. This will create a session whose name will include the process ID of the session itself (PID) and part of the hostname. In order to assign a name to the session, you must specify the key -S:

    screen -S myscreensession01  
    

    After logging into a session, it is controlled by entering keyboard shortcuts. The input combination for Screen is ctrl + a. This is followed by entering the character that is defined to perform a particular action. For example, in order to disconnect from session, you should specify the symbol d, i.e:

    ctrl + a d  
    

    The c symbol is used to create a new window:

    ctrl + a c  
    

    Go to the next window:

    ctrl + a n  
    

    Goes to the previous window:

    ctrl + a p  
    

    To select a specific window:

    ctrl + a ``  
    

    or

    ctrl + a 1 (where 1 is the window number)  
    

    To delete the current window:

    ctrl + a k  
    

    When you delete the last window, the session itself is also destroyed. To delete all windows and exit the Screen:

    ctrl + a ctrl \  
    

    To split the window in two (horizontally):

    ctrl + a S  
    

    The complete list of combinations can be viewed in the documentation using the command:

    man screen  
    

    In order to see a list of available sessions, it is necessary to use the command:

    screen -ls  
    

    To connect to a specific session (e.g. myscreensession01):

    screen -x myscreensession01

Fornex
Европейский
хостинг

    GNU Screen – это приложение, позволяющее запускать несколько виртуальных терминалов в режиме сессий. После того, как сессия создана, от неё можно отключиться, а позже — снова подключиться, причём с любого другого хоста, на котором установлен SSH клиент. Процессы, запущенные в Screen, продолжают выполняться и после того как пользователь отключается от сессии или вообще от хоста в целом. Это ещё одна причина (кроме повышения удобства работы в командной строке вследствие использования возможности перехода между окнами), по которой используется Screen. Если соединение с Интернетом – ненадёжное или у пользователя нет возможности поддерживать постоянное соединение, или существует необходимость запустить выполнение процесса в офисе, а остановить – дома, то использование Screen (или подобных приложений, например, Tmux) – способ решить эти проблемы.

    Команды Screen для Linux

    После установки, программу Screen можно запустить командой screen. При этом будет создана сессия, название которой будет включать идентификатор процесса самой сессии (PID) и часть названия хостнейма. Для того, чтобы присвоить сессии имя, необходимо указать ключ –S:

    screen –S myscreensession01  
    

    После входа в сессию её управление осуществляется путём ввода комбинаций клавиш. Вводная комбинация для Screen – ctrl + a. После этого вводится символ, который определён для выполнения того или иного действия. Например, для того, чтобы отключиться от сессии, необходимо указать символ d, то есть:

    ctrl + a d  
    

    Для создания нового окна используется символ c:

    ctrl + a c  
    

    Переход к следующему окну:

    ctrl + a n  
    

    Переход к предыдущему окну:

    ctrl + a p  
    

    Для выбора конкретного окна:

    ctrl + a “  
    

    или

    ctrl + a 1 (где 1 – номер окна)  
    

    Для удаления текущего окна:

    ctrl + a k  
    

    При удалении последнего окна также уничтожается и сама сессия. Для уничтожения всех окон и выхода из Screen:

    ctrl + a ctrl \  
    

    Для разбиения окна на два (по горизонтали):

    ctrl + a S  
    

    Полный список комбинаций можно просмотреть в документации при помощи команды:

    man screen  
    

    Для того, чтобы просмотреть список доступных сессий, необходимо использовать команду:

    screen –ls  
    

    Для подключения к определённой сессии (например, myscreensession01):

    screen –x myscreensession01