MariaDB is an alternative MySQL DBMS being developed by MySQL author Michael "Monty" Widenius. The main goal of MariaDB is to create a fully binary compatible version of the original MySQL DBMS, but with a significant number of performance improvements in the code. MariaDB is developed as a drop-in replacement for MySQL, fully mimicking the behavior of MySQL.

file

MariaDB is a server-side program for storing and retrieving data using SQL queries. A similar class of software is called a RDBMS (relational database management system). MariaDB is an offshoot of MySQL, another management system previously created by Sun Microsystems.

In general, MariaDB has evolved faster and has more features. These features relate to optimization, improved memory handling, and much more. Usually, over time, these features are carried over to MySQL. For example, the same GIS support appeared in MariaDB earlier than in MySQL. Among other things, MariaDB has many performance improvements to Inodb, MyISAM and the query engine, support for GIS, table elimination, virtual and dynamic columns, multi-source replication, roles and more.

But MariaDB does not support some features that MySQL has. Namely, MariaDB is incompatible with MySQL JSON syntax, the ngram, MeCab, MySQL X plugins, and table spaces that allow you to assign data to multiple tables simultaneously are not supported. But the developers are actively working on fixing the shortcomings.

Отображение валюты на сайте:

MariaDB - это альтернативная MySQL СУБД, которую разрабатывает автор MySQL Michael "Monty" Widenius. Основная цель проекта MariaDB - создание полностью бинарно совместимой с оригинальной MySQL версии СУБД, которая при этом будет иметь значительное количество улучшений в коде, влияющих на производительность. MariaDB разрабатывается как drop-in замена для MySQL, полностью имитируя поведение MySQL.

file

MariaDB — серверная программа для хранения и получения данных с помощью SQL-запросов. Подобный класс программного обеспечения получил название СУРБД (система управления реляционными базами данных). MariaDB является ответвлением от MySQL — другой системы управления, ранее созданной компанией Sun Microsystems.

В целом MariaDB развивается быстрее и имеет больше возможностей. Эти возможности касаются оптимизации, улучшения работы с памятью, и много другого. Обычно, со временем, эти возможности переносятся в MySQL. Например, та же поддержка GIS появилась в MariaDB раньше, чем в MySQL. Среди прочего MariaDB имеет множество улучшений производительности Inodb, MyISAM и движка обработки запросов, поддерживает GIS, ликвидацию таблиц, виртуальные и динамические колонки, репликацию с несколькими источниками, роли и многое другое.

Но у MariaDB не поддерживает некоторые возможности, которые есть в MySQL. А именно, MariaDB несовместима с синтаксисом JSON MySQL, не поддерживаются плагины ngram, MeCab, MySQL X, а также пространства таблиц, которые позволяют присваивать данные нескольким таблицам одновременно. Но разработчики активно работают над исправлением недостатков.