Apache Cassandra is a distributed database management system belonging to the class of NoSQL-systems and designed to create highly scalable and reliable repositories of huge amounts of data represented in the form of hash.

file

Written in Java, it implements a distributed hash system similar to DynamoDB, which provides nearly linear scalability with increasing data volume. It uses the ColumnFamily storage model, which differs from the systems like MemcacheDB, which stores data only in the "key-value" sheaf, the possibility to store hashes with several nesting levels

It belongs to the category of fault-tolerant DBMS: the data placed in the database is automatically replicated to several nodes of a distributed network or even distributed evenly in several data centers, in case of node failure its functions are picked up by other nodes on the fly, adding new nodes to the cluster and Cassandra version update is done on the fly, without additional manual intervention and reconfiguration of other nodes.

Benefits of Cassandra:

  • High scalability and reliability without elements whose failure causes the entire system to fail;
  • implementation of the NoSQL Column family;
  • Very high throughput for write operations and good throughput for read operations;
  • SQL-like query language (since version 0.8) and support for secondary index lookups;
  • configurable consistency and replication support;
  • flexible schema.

Fornex
Европейский
хостинг

Apache Cassandra — распределённая система управления базами данных, относящаяся к классу NoSQL-систем и рассчитанная на создание высокомасштабируемых и надёжных хранилищ огромных массивов данных, представленных в виде хэша.

file

Написана на языке Java, реализует распределённую hash-систему, сходную с DynamoDB, что обеспечивает практически линейную масштабируемость при увеличении объёма данных. Использует модель хранения данных на базе семейства столбцов (ColumnFamily), чем отличается от систем, подобных MemcacheDB, которые хранят данные только в связке «ключ — значение», возможностью организовать хранение хэшей с несколькими уровнями вложенности.

Относится к категории отказоустойчивых СУБД: помещённые в базу данные автоматически реплицируются на несколько узлов распредёленной сети или даже равномерно распределяются в нескольких дата-центрах, при сбое узла его функции на лету подхватываются другими узлами, добавление новых узлов в кластер и обновление версии Cassandra производится на лету, без дополнительного ручного вмешательства и переконфигурации других узлов.

Преимущества Cassandra:

  • высокая масштабируемость и надежность без элементов, отказ которых приводит к выходу из строя всей системы;
  • реализация семейства NoSQL Column;
  • очень высокая пропускная способность для операций записи и хорошая пропускная способность для операций считывания;
  • SQL-подобный язык запросов (начиная с версии 0.8) и поддержка поиска посредством вторичных индексов;
  • настраиваемая согласованность и поддержка репликации;
  • гибкая схема.